My Beauty My Say – How Dove Is Standing Up For Women

It’s not uncommon for a woman to feel uncomfortable about her appearance. Even I have always wanted to change something about myself, and always used makeup to enhance my beauty. That meant I never went anywhere without makeup on. Over the years, Dove has been aspiring women to believe that beauty should be a source of confidence, not anxiety. And their new “My Beauty My Say” campaign does just that. Dove created this campaign in hopes that women will define their beauty on their own terms other than what society tells them to think. Currently their website features stories from other women around the world and how they stood up for their own beauty. They also encourage other women to stand up for themselves by sharing their story using their hashtag #MyBeautyMySay.

dove

Dove’s global research shows that only 4% of women around the world consider themselves beautiful. For women the pressure is always on to look beautiful. Dove works hard on trying to change that personal image we each hold on each other. Dove started a self-esteem project in 2004 to help the next generation of women grow up feeling happy and confident about the way they look. And they have been working rigorously towards this goal. In their current campaign, they ask women to be a part of their beauty movement by posting their own conversation on their website, or through their social media channels such as Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

I believe Dove has created a very successful social media campaign and their blog shows how they have been meeting their companies goal. When scrolling through campaign page, I noticed a headline titled “An athlete’s beauty is her say”. Intrigued, I clicked on the “have your say” button offered. This section shows several messages from the media judging female athletes based on their looks. To counteract this negativity against women, Dove created a social media content curation method that allows you to respond directly to the quoted response via Twitter. When you click on “respond to this quote”, a new tab shows up allowing you to retweet the exact negative response back to the perpetrator, including content ready to respond back like “Judging a female athlete’s appearance isn’t OK.” I thought this strategy was extremely strategic by taking their audience right to the source of this issue.

dove-female-athletes-01-2016

This campaign uses such persuasive messaging strategies that even I felt compelled to share my own opinion. I have learned to love my curves, and accept that I will never be a size zero. I am OK that I am almost always going to be taller than any of my other girlfriends. As a young girl I used to hate the freckles I had all over my face. I now love my freckles and chose to stop using foundation to hide them unlike all the contouring and foundation tutorials are telling you to do. I too stood up to express a feeling towards my own beauty.

See the video: Dove | Beauty on your own terms #MyBeautyMySay

Visit Dove’s Campaign: bit.ly/DoveHYS

Leave a Reply

